Tiny Kox lid van delegatie Raad van Europa voor observatie Palestijnse verkiezingen (en)

Strasbourg 18.01.2006 - A 9-member Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly (PACE) delegation (*), lead by Lord Russell-Johnston (United Kingdom, ADLE), will observe the election of the Palestinian Legislative Council to be held on 25 January 2006.

During their visit to Ramallah and Jerusalem, from 23 to 26 January, the parliamentarians will meet with representatives of the political parties, the President of the Palestinian Authority, the Prime Minister, the Speaker of the Palestinian Legislative Council and the Chair of the Central Electoral Commission, as well as with representatives of the European Union Mission, the United Nations and NGO's.

On the election day, PACE observers will be deployed in both the West Bank and Gaza.

Contact in Jerusalem:

Farida Jamal, PACE Interparliamentary co-operation unit, +33 662 139 351

(*)The members of the delegation are:

Lord RUSSELL-JOHNSTON, Head of Delegation

Socialist group (SOC)

Fatima ABURTO Spain

Josette DURRIEU France

Ruth-Gaby VERMOT-MANGOLD Switzerland

Group of the European People's Party (EPP/CD)

Renzo GUBERT Italy

Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)

Lord RUSSELL-JOHNSTON United Kingdom

Maximilian REIMANN Switzerland

European Democrat Group (EDG)

Mikhail MARGELOV Russia

Toomas ALATALU Estonia

Group of the Unified European Left (UEL)

Tiny KOX Netherlands