Buitenlandchef Ashton benoemt drie nieuwe topfunctionarissen bij Europese diplomatieke dienst (en)

Catherine Ashton , EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Commission Vice-President, today appointed Walter Stevens as Head of the Crisis Management and Planning Department of the EEAS, Hansjoerg Haber as Head of the EU Civilian Planning and Conduct Capability (CPCC) and Francois Rivasseau as Deputy Head of the EU Delegation in Washington.

"I'm delighted to have found such excellent candidates to fill these key roles in the European External Action Service," said Catherine Ashton. "These are three very talented and experienced diplomats who I am certain will make a major contribution to our work over the coming years."

Walter Stevens is currently Belgium's Permanent Representative to the Political and Security Committee and was previously chief of staff to the Belgian Foreign Minister and diplomatic adviser to the Belgian Prime Minister. Hansjoerg Haber is head of the European Union monitoring mission in Georgia, and has considerable experience in the German Foreign Office, including as Director for UN policy. Francois Rivasseau is currently at the French Embassy in Washington, and is a highly experienced French diplomat.