Begrotingscommissie EP keurt kandidatuur De Vries voor Rekenkamer goed (en)

Met dank overgenomen van Europees Parlement (EP), gepubliceerd op maandag 27 september 2010, 19:51.

Candidate members of the European Court of Auditors Lazaros Stavrou Lazarou (CY) and Gijs de Vries (NL) were approved by the Budgetary Control Committee on Monday.

Mr Lazarou was nominated by the Cypriot authorities to replace Mr Kikis Kazamias, whose mandate expires on 1 November. Mr De Vries was nominated by the Dutch government to take over from Mr Maarten Engwirda, who has resigned and needs to be replaced for the remainder of his term in office, from 1 January 2011 until 31 December 2013.

The committee voted unanimously in favour of both candidates, after separate hearings consisting of a 5-minute presentation and 25 minutes of questions. At the committee's request, both candidates had completed written questionnaires beforehand.

The candidatures will be discussed and put to a plenary vote on 6-7 October 2010.

Although it is the Council of Ministers that formally decides on the appointments, co-operation with the European Parliament, and particularly its Budgetary Control Committee, is crucial for members of the Court of Auditors. It has become standard practice for the Council to consult Parliament on appointments to the Court.