Dai Bingran wint de Jean Monnet prijs voor het geven van onderwijs over Europese integratie (en)

Met dank overgenomen van Europese Commissie (EC), gepubliceerd op dinsdag 25 november 2008.

Commissioner Ján Figel' presented the Jean Monnet Prize 2008 to Professor Dai Bingran of Fudan University, Shanghai, for his commitment to teaching about European integration. The award ceremony took place in the presence of the President of the European Commission, José Manuel Barroso, during the Jean Monnet/ECSA-World conference on ‘A Europe of achievements in a changing world’. The conference, which opened at the European Parliament on 24 November 2008, is again aiming to intensify the debate on the role of the European Union, focusing this time more particularly on innovation and international competitiveness.

In the words of the President of the European Commission, José Manuel Barroso, ‘the Jean Monnet European Programme professors, their institutions and their associations play a major role in promoting and publicising the European Union throughout the world. In this time of crisis, coordinated action by the European Union to the benefit of citizens and the economy is more important than ever, for example through proactive and sustainable budgetary policies and by promoting investment in areas that are essential for our future.’

The Member of the European Commission responsible for education, training, culture and youth, Ján Figel', added that ‘in presenting this prize I would like to pay homage to the work of the Jean Monnet professors and encourage them to continue their efforts. In order to emphasise the importance we attach to this programme, I have decided that the Jean Monnet Prize will in future be awarded every year at the main Jean Monnet conference.

Under the supervision of Professor José-Maria Gil-Robles, President of the European University Council for the Jean Monnet Programme, and Professor Manuel Porto, President of ECSA-World, the award winner was selected from 20 eminent professors whose activities have provided examples of best practice in the field of European integration.

Professor Dai Bingran, winner of the Jean Monnet Prize 2008, holds the Jean Monnet Chair at Fudan University in Shanghai, China. He is also the coordinator of the Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence at the same university. The establishing of courses of study on European integration in China owes much to Professor Dai Bingran. In particular, he produced the first Chinese translation of the European Community treaties, the very basis for studying the EU.

The Jean Monnet Programme consists of a network of high-level university professors in 61 countries on the five continents. It has not only facilitated dialogue at world level but has also on several occasions in the past provided European decision-makers with ideas for political action. For its part, ECSA is the world association of university professors specialising in European integration. Several European Commission initiatives on subjects such as the Euro-Med dialogue and neighbourhood policy were first developed at Jean Monnet and ECSA-World conferences.

This year the conference is bringing together more than 400 participants and will focus more particularly on innovation and international competitiveness, Europe's social agenda, European citizenship, migration and intercultural dialogue, and EU commitment to achieving the millennium development objectives.

To be broadcast in full on EbS (9.30-9.45):


Further information:

European Commission: Jean Monnet Programme:


European Commission: Success stories / Jean Monnet Prize: