[autom.vertaling] Billijke het gevalcommissie van het Leven van onderzoek - bevestigd lidmaatschap (en)

donderdag 19 januari 2006

Instellingen - 19-01-2006 - 12:01


On Thursday, the plenary approved the full list of 22 members for the Committee of Inquiry to look into the case of the British insurance company Equitable Life. The committee was established by a vote the day before.

Over a million UK policy holders and more than 15,000 policy holders in other EU countries, notably Germany and Ireland, incurred major losses to their pensions, savings or investments following alleged mismanagement at Equitable Life. The question has arisen as to whether the relevant EU legislation was properly applied in the UK.  

The committee's mandate requires it to investigate the way in which the UK authorities applied the relevant Council directives, examine whether the European Commission properly monitored the transposition of Community law and assess allegations that UK regulators consistently failed to protect policy holders by rigorous supervision of accounting and provisioning practices and of the financial situation of Equitable Life. The committee will have twelve months to complete its work and submit a report to Parliament. An interim report will be delivered after four months.

The European Parliament has the power to set up a committee of inquiry to investigate "alleged contraventions or maladministration in the implementation of Community law" (Article 193 of the EC Treaty). The committee can hold hearings and invite EC institutions or national governments to send representatives to testify at those hearings. It may also request national or EC authorities to provide any documents necessary to carry out its duties.

Membership of the Committee:

EPP-ED group

Sir Robert Atkins (UK)

Bert Doorn (NL)

Giuseppe Gargani (IT)

Jean-Paul Gauzès (FR)

Cristina Gutiérrez-Cortines (ES)

Mairead McGuinness (IE)

Marie Panayotopoulos-Cassiotou (EL)

Rainer Wieland (DE)

PES group

Michael Cashman (UK)

Proinsias De Rossa (IE)

Harald Ettl (AT)

Manuel Medina Ortega (ES)

Peter Skinner (UK)

Anne Van Lancker (BE)

ALDE group

Sharon Bowles (UK)

Wolf Klinz (DE)

Diana Wallis (UK)

Greens/EFA group

Heide Rühle (DE)

GUE/NGL group

Willy Meyer Pleite (ES)

IND/DEM group

Godfrey Bloom (UK)

UEN group

Seán O Neachtain (IE)


Ashley Mote (UK)


REF.: 20060118IPR04465